# Shunji Murai Award

August, 2025

The Shunji Murai Award, presented by the Japan Society of Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (JSPRS), is open to young scientists who submit excellent papers to the Asian Conference on Remote Sensing (ACRS). The prize for the winning author shall be a certificate and financial support for travel to the ACRS.

## Requirements to the applicants:

- 1. The author shall be younger than or equal to 40 years old as of the application submission deadline.
- 2. The author shall be from an AARS Ordinary Member country or region.
- 3. The paper shall have no more than three co-authors. Only the first-listed author will be considered for the Award.

#### Procedure:

- 4. The author should submit the full paper to the secretariat of the forthcoming ACRS by the deadline and obtain a confirmation letter.
- 5. The paper and the award application form, including the Curriculum Vitae (CV) of the first author should also be sent to Chair, Prof. Junichi Susaki, by e-mail to <a href="mailto:susaki.junichi.3r@kyoto-u.ac.jp">susaki.junichi.3r@kyoto-u.ac.jp</a>, no later than the deadline date of full paper submission. A paper arriving after the deadline date will not be considered for the Award.
- 6. The Jury will select one excellent paper as the Award winner. The winner will be announced by the General Secretary in advance of the ACRS.

#### Requirements to the winner:

7. The awardee must present the winning paper at the ACRS. Where the conference is a physical meeting, as opposed to on-line only, the awardee must also attend the ACRS. The paper will be excluded from Proceedings of ACRS and be transferred to the Asian Journal of Geoinformatics (AJG) for peer-review and publication.

#### Contents of the Award:

- 8. The winner will be presented with the Shunji Murai Award, along with the travel support payment, at the ACRS Opening Ceremony.
- 9. The travel support, generously provided by the Japan Society of Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (JSPRS), is \$US 1000.

**Jury:** The Award winner will be selected by the Evaluation Committee with four to seven prominent professionals from AARS Ordinary Members and Associate Members.

#### **Evaluation Committee:**

Chair: Professor Junichi Susaki, Kyoto University, Japan

Members:

Professor Clive Fraser, Melbourne University, Australia
Professor Mitsunori Yoshimura, Nihon University, Japan

Professor Fuan Tsai, National Central University, China Taipei

Professor Tee-Ann Teo, National Yang Ming Chiao Tung University, China Taipei

### Schedule for 2025:

Deadline of paper & application form submission: August 31, 2025

Announcement of the winner: September 30, 2025

Award presentation: October 27, 2025

Contact:

Prof. Junichi Susaki

E-mail: susaki.junichi.3r@kyoto-u.ac.jp